Early Years Foundation Stage

Our intention within the Early Years Foundation Stage at Ryelands Primary and Nursery School is to be a consistently high quality setting to provide a secure foundation for children’s learning. We intend to provide learning and development opportunities planned around the needs and interests of each individual child, through planning in the moment and delivering an individual next steps approach.

We aim to develop a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers to all work together to accelerate the progress of the children’s learning. We believe that every child should be included and supported and there should be equality of opportunities. We follow a gender neutral approach and work with several agencies to support the needs of all of our children.

As a whole staff team we aim to:

  • Provide positive relationships with every child. We aim for these positive relationships to develop children who are resilient, capable, confident, strong, independent learners.
  • Provide an enabling environment inside and outside which cater for the needs and interests of our current cohorts.
  • Maintain a safe, caring, happy environment where every child matters and each child feels safe, nurtured, loved and supported.
  • Encourage respect for each other and for the environment.
  • Nurture the spiritual, moral, social, emotional and physical wellbeing of each individual for life.
  • Develop and promote lively and inquisitive minds with the desire and skill to explore new ideas
  • Foster a sense of awe and wonder and develop natural curiosity, so children enjoy learning in and out of school
  • Encourage our children to believe in themselves, while equipping them with the fundamental skills to enjoy and achieve in life
  • Interact with all of the children to develop language acquisition and oracy (and by using Wellcomm and Talk Boost toolkits).

Children in our foundation stage classes learn the skills and knowledge found in the Early Years Foundation Stage which sets standards for the learning and care of children from birth to 5 years old.

The children learn within the prime areas of learning:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

The children will also learn within the specific areas of learning:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design